YouTube Visual Search Provider for Internet Explorer 8

Hi everybody! I recently made the jump to Internet Explorer 8 as my primary browser and discovered the joys of Visual Search Providers. Visual Search is just like regular search, but with suggestions as you type, where the suggestions can include images. Awesome.
One of the most obvious candidate websites for such a visual search is YouTube. However, I found that the official destination for IE8 Search Providers does not include one. So I made one myself!
To create a search provider, you need one xml file to define the provider, and one (dynamically generated) XML file that includes the search suggestions/results. How to create these XML files, can be found here.
In order to get dynamic suggestions from YouTube, I needed to get YouTube search results in XML format. As it turned out, this is very easy. You can find everything you need here.
So almost finished, right? Search provider is defined and we have search suggestions in XML. Wrong! The XML suggestions need to be in a specific format, of course (again, look here). So, I created a Python script that processes the XML YouTube search results and spits out visual search compatible suggestions.
Finally, I erected a Google App Engine app where my Python script will be hosted and ran. I inserted the URL to the GAE app in the search provider definition XML file, and presto! Visual YouTube results! Yay?
For those of you who want to do all this yourself, I will give you one tip: Unicode/UTF-8 conversions are a pain in the ass! Wait, that wasn’t a tip at all! I suck!
If you want to try the YouTube visual search I created (Internet Explorer 8 only! (I think)), paste the following in your browser bar, press enter, and click the button that magically appears:
 
javascript: document.write('<button onclick="window.external.AddSearchProvider(\'http://drop.io/download/public/lfbifcei8ahcv9fdapho/032c9e10d7973c48b3b994878bdcb630e0e45163/22c15b80-2f6f-012c-7cef-f0c403d9fbe0/23395630-2f6f-012c-0d4f-f79576abdabb/v2/content\')">Install Visual Youtube Search</button>');
 
If you want to observe the search provider definition file, look here. Remember that this is XML. I don’t know if you like that stuff! You might, though!
You can try the Google App Engine app here. This spits out generated XML. Do you like XML yet?
This entry was posted in Computers en internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

